31 Days of Creative Homeschooling: Holy Monday

As my children got older, our schedule filled with classes, co-ops, church, and different group activities. Each one was something really wonderful but I found myself missing those quiet days at home and my children were needing more downtime. After a while I came up with Holy Mondays. IMG_2808.JPG
This schedule includes almost everything we are doing in October, I left off doctor appointments and some scheduled music lessons my daughter & I teach.
Holy Monday is a day set apart from our schedule, I try not to allow any doctor or dentist appointments to fall on those days. When we first started Holy Mondays, it usually meant Monkey Bread, read alouds, art projects, board games & maybe a movie. Now it means the kids are welcome to sleep in and get a late start, several hours of uninterrupted school time, science projects, and hopefully a nice long walk for the new puppy. It also gives me a chance to catch up on any grading or prep work for my music classes. As I look at that list from when the kids were younger I see many things I’d like to add now too! Monkey Bread Mondays were a real thing for us for years & I’m kinda missing that.
It takes some practice but scheduling a quiet day refreshes me, makes me a better teacher & a more patient wife & mom.

3 Comments

Filed under 31 days, homeschooling

3 responses to “31 Days of Creative Homeschooling: Holy Monday

  1. I love that idea! Taking the concept of a Sabbath rest and making it work, because as moms we have to face facts that Sundays certainly aren’t restful. 🙂 We do need that recharge time. Thanks for sharing!

  2. llmom27

    This is a great idea. Good visual.

Leave a Reply

