31 Days of Creative Homeschooling: Working on My Words

When I let everything around me overwhelm me, I forget what matters. I forget who matters & what my job is ~ my vocation. Are you familiar with vocation?

“The doctrine of vocation deals with how God works through human beings to bestow His gifts. God gives us this day our daily bread by means of the farmer the banker, the cooks, And the lady at the check-out counter. He creates new life – the most amazing miracle of all – by means of mothers and fathers. He protects us by means of the police officers, firemen, and our military. He creates. Through artists. He heals by working through doctors, nurses, and others whom He has gifted, equipped, and called to the medical professions.”
― Gene Edward Veith Jr.

God equips me to be a mother, he has called me to it and works through me in the lives of my children. When I am in a place where everything is overwhelming my words aren’t very gentle, or kind or sweet I need to remember that He equips me.

God is hidden in vocations that bear authority. But that puts the pressure on human beings who exercise that authority to act with God’s justice and grace”
― Gene Edward Veith Jr.

And there’s the rub. Even when I am overwhelmed, annoyed, irritated.. angry, it is still my job to act with God’s grace.  I’m not perfect, and I know I will make mistakes. I made them yesterday and today and will tonight and tomorrow. But I think the key here is seeking God’s guidance in my words. Trusting that He will stop me from saying something that tears down and instead fill me with sweet encouraging words. Relying on His grace and love and not mine.

scripture

scripture for moms

One creative way to be a mom who chooses kind words is to have some scripture  posted around the house to keep it mindful.  Another idea is to journal different phrases or verses to help keep them fresh in your mind.
By trying to keep my words in check, my children will learn to keep their words in check. And on those days when neither of us can control our words, we will have to remember to stop and pray for forgiveness from the Lord as well as ask from each other.

More from Veith about Vocation here ~
voca

Leave a comment

Filed under attitute of grattitute, homeschooling, it's about the momma

Leave a Reply

