Day 7

20131105-195324.jpg

I give thanks for humor today!
My great aunt (in her 90s) moved into a nursing home recently. I snagged this keepsake.
Our family is very German & as nearly all my grandparents, great aunts & great uncles have passed away I am trying to recapture some of our heritage.
When I saw this little plaque I knew I couldn’t let it go.
Imagine how funny I found it when I realized the translation comes from a drinking song, the “No Beer Polka”
and translates:
“In heaven there is no beer, therefore we drink it here.”

1 Comment

Filed under attitute of grattitute

One response to “Day 7

  1. I love this :). Heritage is a huge deal to me, and I hope I come across a gem like that some day!

Leave a Reply

