Peek in my journal

Grab a cup of coffee with me and I’ll let you peek into my journal.
I’ve mentioned my journal before.

20130830-111142.jpg
I am still at it, recording important & meaningful thoughts from books I read or conversations I’ve had. I don’t like the thought of having an experience or reading something motivating and not be able to recall what struck me.
I want to grow & learn, I never want to be stagnate or simply live to be entertained. Therefore, I record to recall.

20130902-172819.jpg
I also use my journal for school planning. Book lists, schedules, yearly goals, & the kids’ interests all get recorded .

20130902-172838.jpg
Something new that I’ve been doing is Morning Pages. I try to get up before anyone else, find a quiet corner & write 3 pages. It’s an exercise developed by Julia Cameron. I have been doing this nearly every day for about a month and I love it. Some days my morning pages are a prayer, pearls of pleas strung together on the page. Other mornings the three pages are full of grouchiness & complaints. Ms Cameron says that morning pages are a means of clearing out the cobwebs, Β similar to taking yourself out for a cup of coffee.

20130902-174551.jpg

And of course my journal will always be full of doodles, just as my school papers from childhood always had them down the side. I’m sure my teachers loved that.

20130902-175211.jpg
I’ll always be a doodler, have favorite paper textures, ink pens & words, and it’ll probably always be difficult to find a normal ball point pen in my home. That happened last week when a friend asked to borrow a pen. We found gel pens, felt tip pens, pens with every color ink except black…. it was rather humorous & I appreciated that she loved the search even if we never came up with a simple ballpoint pen.

Leave a comment

Filed under coffee, quote, sharing my art

Leave a Reply

