Thankful Thursday

                Today I am thankful that my children are right where they are. Sometimes they doubt themselves & their abilities, but I’m so thankful that they have time to grown into their own. They are able to choose what they want to explore & take part in & I am thankful for the lesson that I have learned by learning to  trust them.  I shared a story today with a friend about a time when I didn’t understand my daughter as well as I probably should have. A time when my demands for her focus & “performance” topped her desire & ability (in that moment).  I was trying to explain that we have to trust our kids right where they are and back off…be understanding…. listen to what they are really saying.  I’m sure that my friend misunderstood, she kind of glossed over & replied with a “typical” parental comment.  “Well, if she acted like that now though….”  

though… really, not the point. It doesn’t matter at what age, because if our children aren’t ready for something or if they are embarrassed, shy, or confused, the point is to reach out to them. To take the pressure of the situation off of them & let them face that embarrassment, shyness, or confusion in their own time.  That’s something to be thankful for on both of our accounts.       

 

                 

Leave a comment

Filed under everything else, parenting

Leave a Reply

