strong like a mighty oak

1 Blessed is the man
       who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked
       or stand in the way of sinners
       or sit in the seat of mockers.

 2 But his delight is in the law of the LORD,
       and on his law he meditates day and night.

 3 He is like a tree planted by streams of water,
       which yields its fruit in season
       and whose leaf does not wither.
       Whatever he does prospers. Psalm 1:1-3

One of the most influential people in my life was Pastor Bob Brown. I remember him as a completely jovial man, extremely talented, honest and a bit blunt. He ministered at our church during my high school years (God bless him) and throughout my early 20s. He counseled me as a teen when I questioned faith, scripture, religion… he counseled again when it came time for our wedding, and he counsels me still when I remember his words that we are to be strong like a mighty oak.. I can still hear him playing his ukulele-banjo (more uke love) and singing “I shall not be moved  Lord,  I shall not be moved”.

tree of prayer

                                   I’m sharing here my current work-in-progress.. an interpretation of being strong like a mighty oak…. of being a solid person of prayer, showing delight & meditating day and night on His word.

2 Comments

Filed under sharing my art

2 responses to “strong like a mighty oak

  1. Robin in New Jersey

    Very nice!

Leave a Reply

